Ten of state's top artists converge upon Orlando as OMA's Florida Prize in Contemporary Art exhibit opens Thursday night [June 11]

FL Prize

June 10, 2015

ORLANDO, Florida -- Ten artists from Florida will have their work displayed for three months in one of the state's top art museums, as the Orlando Museum of Art hosts its Florida Prize in Contemporary Art exhibition.

The annual invitational exhibition -- that focuses on the production of contemporary art in the State -- will kick off with a preview this Thursday, June 11, from 7-8:30 p.m. [Cost is $5; free for OMA Members. Museum Members will also be able to attend a Free Members Preview Reception at 6 p.m. that evening.]

The exhibition's three-month run will end September 6, 2015.

This is the second consecutive year that OMA has invited a select group of outstanding artists for the exhibition, with one to receive the Florida Prize monetary award.

"We really wanted to find a way to not only enhance what is going on in contemporary art throughout Florida, but to find a way to really acknowledge the work that is being done here," stated Azela Santana, OMA's associate curator.

"So I thought, what can we do to enhance our engagement with artists living and working here in Florida," explained Glen Gentele, director and chief executive officer of the Orlando Museum of Art, "and we came up with the idea for this exhibition."

The purpose of the Orlando Museum of Art Florida Prize in Contemporary Art is to bring a new level of support to the State's most exciting artists by recognizing their contributions to the field, and their impact on the cultural vitality of Florida. The exhibition includes artists whose studio practices cross all platforms including film, video, painting, sculpture, mixed-media, and large scale installations created specifically for the exhibition.

This year's selected artists include: Farley Aguilar [Miami]; Bhakti Baxter [Miami]; Cesar Cornejo [Tampa]; Michael Covello [Tampa]; Rob Duarte [Tallahassee]; Jennifer Kaczmarek [Pensacola]; Nicolas Lobo [Miami]; Wanda Raimundi-Ortiz [Orlando]; Alex Trimino [Miami]; and Antonia Wright [Miami].

Three jurors will select this year's recipient of the Florida Prize in Contemporary Art: Juan Roselione-Valadez, director of the Rubell Family Collection; Ginger Gregg Duggan, independent curator; and Ben Thompson, curator of the Museum of Contemporary Art, Jacksonville.

For more information, phone 407.896.4231, or CLICK HERE.



Read More